Take it or leave it!

Posted: October 6, 2010 in Diari, Life, Work

Assalamu’alaykum warahmatullah,

Alhamdulillah. It has been a week since I left UMK for good. Yeah, I do really mean for good! My wife and I quit our job last September 30th. Why? Well, if you have read most of my postings, I’m very sure you will understand why we quit our job.

Although I never expect to quit my job when I first accepted it, InshaAllah, this decision, that my wife and I have made, will be the best decision. I still remember when I first step into the academic world in UMK. Everything was sugar and honey. Sweet, lovely and fun! But all that only last for a month or so. Then it started to get bitter and bitter.

I understand that UMK is a very young university. It comes into existence in an instance. Just imagine. They planned to build a university in Kelantan in mid 2006 and the university was ‘fully’ operating a year later. To some, it is possible and doable. But to me it is preposterous! How can you build an educational institution in just a year? It’s like building a space rocket using wood as its fuel. How far do you think it can fly? The timeline is too short and they expect big results from UMK?

Still after 3 years and a half operating, UMK doesn’t evolve much. I understand how the people in the university feel. I mean, to compete with other public universities where some has already exceed 100 years of operation, you have to work like hell! There’s no such thing as rest in UMK. All academician has to do everything- from teaching, research to promoting UMK to the public!

When it comes to treatment, the academicians were treated the worst. I still remember, when our ex-dean held a meeting, he always warned us with his infamous saying,” Take it or leave it!” As if the academicians have never done anything good to the university. Well, as an employee, I really don’t like the way he said that to us. The way he said that as if we got the job because of his mercy..as if we can never get the same job at other universities. Are we really that bad? Seriously?

But all those experiences was worthwhile. I know that I’ve learned a lot from working at the university. InshaAllah, all of the administration work that we did back in UMK will come in handy in the future. No doubt we have met a lot of experienced academicians and passionate researchers and inshaAllah, in the future, they will be one of the most valuable network for our future career.

Truthfully, I’ve learned a lot about life at UMK. I learned that everything will not always go your way. In fact, most of the time, things will not go your way! Patience, perseverance, hardwork and most importantly, reliance on Allah are the keys for success.

Comments
  1. aNas says:

    Salam bro,

    Brave move there, was hoping to read what your next steps would be.

    Anyway, as I was reading this and opening your blog from my Google Reader, your blog title says it all ‘As One tale ends, another begins’.

  2. lonsaa says:

    ‘alaykumussalam,

    My next steps? Hurm..Good question! The next step will be a very long step. Have to do my PhD and make sure I finish it on time. And after that, inshaAllah, I will be working with UniMaP. Am still waiting for the offer letter from them.

    Eh bro, takkan takde blog kot? Nak baca gak.huhu

Leave a Reply

