The New Journey Begins!

Posted: January 20, 2011 in Diari, Life

Assalamu’alaykum warahmatullah,

Alhamdulillah it has been approximately two weeks since I arrived in Edmonton. There are so many things to talk about. From the weather, to the community to the most important thing, my study!

The journey from Kuala Lumpur to Edmonton was a very long one. I can’t sleep well throughout the whole trip. By the time we arrived in Edmonton, my head was like spinning. We tried to look for a place to stay for the night but to our surprise, the hotel we went to doesn’t accept cash! Luckily, the attendant in the hotel we went to, found a hotel for us that does accept cash deposit. We went to the hotel with all the baggages (8 in total including the hand luggage) to the hotel. It was quite pricy but we severely need a GOOD rest so we paid for it.

The day, after we went to get our apartment keys. The apartment was not really as we expected because we thought that a refurbished apartment should be in a mint condition. I mean, I paid $1000+  for this kind of apartment? But I guess that’s the price I should expect for an apartment close to the university, LRT station and shops. We had to sleep on the floor for the first two days. Now that’s an experience! But alhamdulillah, thanks to a Malaysian senior, Kak Sakinah, and her husband ,Abg Syed, we  managed to buy some basic home necessities to furnish our apartment a bit. But we still had to sleep on the floor, only this time, with a comforter as our bed.

On Monday last week, I met my supervisor, Dr. Tariq Siddique. Alhamdulillah he is a very nice man and I think I can work well with him.  He asked me about my research interest and also gave me some suggestions on what classes I should enroll for this semester. I also met his first PhD student, Brother Muhammad Babar from Pakistan and his other master’s students and research team members. His lab was not fully equipped yet since the lab was just set up recently. But most of the lab equipments for the research were already available at other building. So for the time being, it should not be a big problem.

I enrolled for two classes this semester, Advanced Molecular Microbiology and Laboratory Methods for Environmental Microbiology. Since I don’t have a Master’s degree, I am required to take at least 12 credit worth classes to be eligible to pass my candidacy exam. And here’s the catch; I cannot get any grade lower than a C+ and I must get at least CGPA 3.0 for each semester to maintain my status as an UoA PhD student. It was a bless in disguise really since I forgot almost everything about molecular biology and other stuffs. So this is a good chance for me to recap all of the things that I’ve learned during my undergrad studies. Alhamdulillah. May Allah make it easy for me to study and score in all examination and quizzes. Ameen.

On Wednesday, my wife asked me if we could go to a shop at downtown to look for some furniture. We went there that afternoon and bought quite a lot of stuffs including study desk, mattress and mattress box, book shelves, etc for about $500. It was quite a deal but all of the stuffs were used but in still good condition. The next day they delivered all of our furniture. At last, we were able to sleep on a real bed. Alhamdulillah. Now the only thing left is my desktop. I already bought one at ibuypower.com and inshaAllah I should get the desktop by next month. So now I’m in my second week of my study. Alhamdulillah everything went well so far and I hope I will be able to maintain this till the end of my study period. Ameen.

Gotta go do some readings right now. I have been spending quite some time to write this entry. May Allah make all of our affairs easy and may Allah protect us and give us abundance of His blessings in this world and in the hereafter. Ameen. InshaAllah will update this blog again in the near future.

Wassalamu’alaykum

Leave a Reply

